This follows on from last season’s hugely successful campaign, in which the prestigious Gibson Cup was returned to Linfield for a record 53rd time.

Carrick Rangers and Larne have also been welcomed into the Premiership, the top division of football in Northern Ireland.

NI Football League Managing Director Andrew Johnston said: “We’re all set to go with another exciting campaign this weekend! With the fresh addition of Carrick Rangers and Larne, we expect the Danske Bank Premiership to be more competitive than ever this year, with all clubs strengthening over the summer.

“The support from Danske Bank has been invaluable to Irish League football. Going into the eighth year of sponsorship, not only have we been able to focus supporting our clubs’ growth on the pitch, but also off of it, and that is really starting to gain traction as a result of this partnership.”

Stephen Matchett, Chief Financial Officer at Danske Bank said: “It’s a pleasure, and privilege for us to be back here at the National Stadium for the launch of the 2019/2020 Danske Bank Premiership season, our eighth season as title sponsors. Our partnership with the Northern Ireland Football League, in both the Men’s and Women’s Premierships, supports our vision to make more possible for people and communities throughout Northern Ireland. We’re looking forward to another exciting season of local football.”

This Friday, Glenavon host Glentoran at Mourneview Park, kicking-off at 7.45pm. While on Saturday, games kick off at 3pm, with promoted clubs Carrick Rangers and Larne taking on Crusaders (at Seaview) and Warrenpoint Town (at Inver Park), respectively. In the other games, last season’s runners-up Ballymena United play against Dungannon Swifts at Stangmore Park and Coleraine and Cliftonville clash at The Showgrounds.

Reigning champions Linfield get right into the action and start the defence of their title at home to Institute on Saturday afternoon.


Friday 9 August 2019 (kick-off 7.45pm)

Glenavon v Glentoran


Saturday 10 August 2019 (kick-off 3pm)

Coleraine v Cliftonville

Crusaders v Carrick Rangers

Dungannon Swifts v Ballymena Utd

Larne v Warrenpoint Town

Linfield v Institute