Have your finances been impacted by Coronavirus?

Whether you are requesting support for the first time or you need further support following a payment deferral, we’re here to help, whatever your circumstances.

It is an uncertain time for many and we understand that you may need our support. On this page, find out how to let us know if you need help with your repayments and read about the ways in which we can help.

Payment deferrals under the Government Support Scheme are offered as per guidance published by the FCA that you can access on their Mortgages and coronavirus: information for consumers webpage External link icon.

The Government Support Scheme has closed to new applications and is coming to an end in July 2021

This Scheme closed to new applications for payment deferrals on 31st March 2021. If you have an existing payment deferral and you have not availed of six months’ worth of deferral under the Scheme, you could be eligible to extend this deferral. Read on below for more information on how to apply.

If you are not eligible for an extension, or have never had a payment deferral, we can still support you. Please get in touch using the form or telephone number below. Any support that we offer is underpinned by guidance from the FCA, known as the Tailored Support Guidance, which you can also access at the link above.

All payment deferrals granted under this Scheme will come to an end on 31st July 2021. This means that your repayments will resume in August 2021, whether you have been able to avail of six months' worth of payment deferrals or not.

If you have already had a payment deferral and would like to repay the amount owed

If you would like to make a lump sum repayment or start to repay the amount owed from your payment deferral sooner (fixed rate mortgages only), please complete this form and we’ll call you back to arrange.

If you are able to make a lump sum repayment or start to repay the amount owed from your payment deferral sooner, you could save money over the lifetime of your product. If you would like more information as to what this would mean for you, please complete the form and an advisor will get back to you to discuss.

Go to form

I need support with my accounts

If you need support with your accounts or repayments on your mortgage, personal loan or credit card, whether you have had a period of support before or not, complete the form at the link below and an advisor will get in touch with you. To discuss getting support on overdrafts, please call us on 0345 600 2882.

In the form, we’ll ask you some questions about your finances to give us a view of the type of support that you may need. We’ll then make an appointment for you to speak to one of our trained advisers and confirm the date and time with you within seven days.

If your next repayment is due today or in the next few days and you will have difficulty making the repayment, please call us on 0345 600 2882.

Scroll down this page to read more about the Government’s Coronavirus Support Scheme, including closing dates and how we can support you, whether you are eligible for the Scheme or not.

Go to form

If you need support with your overdraft

If you require support managing your overdraft facility, please get in touch by calling us on 0345 600 2882.

Our advisers will be able to discuss the options available to you. These may include:

  • Consolidating your existing commitments into one affordable monthly payment, subject to our normal checks.
  • Arranging a suitable repayment plan with you, to help you reduce down your overdraft balance over an agreed period of time.
  • Considering whether the cost of your account is appropriate based on your current circumstances.
  • We may agree a period of time for you to consider your options, seek free, impartial debt advice or make other plans for repayment.
  • I have completed the form, when will I hear from you?

    Thanks for completing your form. An advisor will be in touch as soon as possible and within three working days. If your next payment is due today or in the next few days and you will have difficulty making the repayment, please call us on 0345 600 2882. Please also contact us on this number if you require a face to face conversation or other special arrangements and we’ll arrange these for you.

  • What will we talk about during our meeting and how long will it last?

    When we first call you back, we will arrange a meeting with an advisor at a time that suits you. This call will take around five minutes.

    The meeting that we arrange will take around an hour. At that meeting, we will firstly complete a review of your finances and then discuss support options that are suitable for you. This may include:

    • A payment deferral (payment holiday, interest only period or part capital and interest repayment)
    • We may agree a period of time for you to consider your options, seek free, impartial debt advice or make other plans for repayment
    • It may be of benefit to some customers to review their product- if so, we will arrange an appointment for you with a suitable advisor during our call.
  • If I proceed to take a payment deferral or time to consider my options, will I owe more in the long run?

    Yes; interest will continue to accrue on your account and the repayments deferred or missed during this period are still owed, so you will owe more over the lifetime of your facility.

    We will be open and clear about any solution on your account, by outlining any potential costs and impacts to your agreement. You will also receive confirmation in writing. You can cancel a payment deferral at any time and repay the amount owed in a lump sum or start to repay it sooner (fixed rate mortgages only).

  • If I proceed to take a payment deferral or other support option, will it impact my credit rating?

    You are eligible for the Government Scheme

    Your payment deferral will not be reported on your credit file if you are granted support under the Government Scheme. You are eligible for ongoing support under the Government Scheme if:

    • you currently have a payment deferral, but you have not already availed of six months’ worth of payment deferral
    • you apply to top this up before your next repayment is due; if you make a repayment on your account after 31st March, you are no longer eligible for the Government Scheme

    Please remember that all payment deferrals will end on 31st July 2021, whether you have availed of six months’ of repayments or not.

    You are not eligible for the Government Scheme

    If you are not eligible for the Government Scheme and you proceed with an application for support with your repayments, this may be reported on your credit file and may impact your credit rating, which is also sometimes referred to as your credit score. This may impact your ability to obtain credit in the future. Your credit file is used by firms to make lending decisions, along with other sources of information, for example your bank account statements.

If you have money worries

If you’re not sure what to do, or need help to sort out any money worries that you may have, you can get free and impartial advice from Advice NI, Housing Rights Service or other debt counselling organisations. If you would like to find out more about these services, please visit our Customers in Financial Difficulty webpage.

For help on how to prioritise your debts, the Money Advice Service has a guide on how to prioritise your debts External link icon.

If you would like money guidance or if you are considering whether another payment deferral on your mortgage is right for you, the Money Advice Service Navigator Tool External link icon and the FCA information page Dealing with Financial Difficulties during the Coronavirus PandemicExternal link icon will help you access the right information.

The Government Coronavirus Support Scheme

Payment deferrals under the Government Support Scheme are offered as per guidance published by the FCA that you can access on their Mortgages and coronavirus: information for consumers webpage External link icon.

Please remember that the Scheme closed to new applications on 31st March 2021 and all payment deferrals will come to a close on 31st July 2021, meaning that, if you have a payment deferral granted under the Scheme, it will end and your repayments will resume in August 2021, whether you have been able to avail of the six months on offer or not.

Read on below for some commonly asked questions on the Government Support Scheme. The form to complete if you are eligible and need an extension on your existing payment deferral is at the top of this page.

FAQs

  • What support options are available under the Government Scheme for mortgages?

    Payment deferrals under the Government Support Scheme are offered as per guidance published by the FCA that you can access on their Mortgages and coronavirus: information for consumers webpage External link icon.

    If you currently have a payment deferral and you have not already availed of six months’ of deferral under the scheme, you can apply to top up your deferral. Please remember that, if you make a repayment on the account that you want the deferral on after 31st March 2021, you will no longer be eligible for the Scheme. You can request:

    • A full payment deferral (also known as a payment holiday). This is where you make no repayments for an agreed period of time.
    • A partial payment deferral. This is where you make a reduced payment of a specific amount for an agreed period of time.
    • To review your existing mortgage product or term in line with your individual circumstances

    Important information about Credit Reference Agencies

    If you have received mortgage support as part of the Government’s Coronavirus support Scheme, there has been no impact on your credit rating as a result. Under this Scheme, you can avail of up to six months of payment deferral and this may have included full payment deferrals (payment holidays) or partial payment deferrals (interest only or part repayment periods). However, lenders may take into account a range of factors when making credit decisions in the future including, for example, information provided by applicants or bank account information.

  • Why can’t I apply for a new payment deferral under the Government Support Scheme?

    The FCA and UK Government set a deadline for applications to the Scheme of 31st March 2021.

    However, this does not mean that we cannot help you, nor does it mean that we cannot give you a payment deferral. If you need further support, please complete the form at the top of this page and we will arrange an appointment with you to discuss your financial situation. We will agree next steps with you during the meeting.

    If you have an existing payment deferral and you have not availed of six months’ worth of deferral under the scheme, you could be eligible to extend this deferral; read on below to find out the criteria.

  • Am I eligible for an extension on my existing deferral?

    Although the Scheme is closed to new applications, you are eligible to apply for an extension to your payment deferral if you:

    • have an existing payment deferral, and
    • you have not availed of six months’ of payment deferral under the scheme (that is, since March 2020), and
    • you have not made a repayment to your account since March 2021

    If you need support and are in doubt as to your eligibility, complete the form above- we will check your eligibility when we book you in for your meeting.

  • When does the Scheme close to all payment deferrals?

    All payment deferrals granted under the Scheme will close on 31st July 2021. This is the case whether you have availed of six months’ of payment deferral or not. This means that all repayments will resume in August 2021, on your usual payment date.

  • Are payment holidays and payment deferrals the same?

    Yes, payment holidays are also known as payment deferrals. There are two main types:

    • A ‘full payment deferral’ is where you make no repayments for an agreed period of time
    • A ‘partial payment deferral’ is where you make reduced payments of a specific amount for an agreed period of time
  • Why has the total amount I owe you increased?

    The amount you owe is now more because interest has continued to accrue during your payment deferral and the balance has not reduced by your usual payments. This means that your outstanding balance has increased overall.

  • Can I repay the amount I owe from my payment deferral now?

    Yes, just use the button above and tell us that you would like to do this. We will call you back to arrange.

  • How do you confirm my appointment?

    We will confirm your appointment by calling you and will use the details you provided on your web form. We will do this within three days. If you need to speak with us more urgently or if you need a face to face conversation rather than a telephone meeting, please let us know by calling 0345 600 2882 and we’ll arrange this for you.

  • How long will my appointment take?

    The appointment will take around an hour, depending on your circumstances.

  • Can I still use my credit card if I have a payment deferral?

    Yes you can continue to use your credit card as normal, but it’s important to be aware of your balance and spending so that you don’t exceed your credit limit, as interest will continue to be applied to your account during the payment deferral period.

  • Can I request to end my payment deferral early?

    Yes. If you would like to end the payment holiday early please contact our team to discuss your options on 0345 600 2882.